Please wait...

Cindy Alderson - 2022 Lady Of Racing

Fri, Mar 25, 2022

Cindy Alderson - 2022 Lady Of Racing

Cindy Alderson has been awarded the 2022 Victorian Wakeful Club Lady of Racing.

Announced at the 28th annual event on Friday night, the Cranbourne-based trainer was recognised alongside fellow finalists Lisa Coffey, Lyn Shand and Dr Emma Nicol.

Alderson took out her trainers license in 1990 and juggled roles in the industry on behalf of Victoria University and RV before going into training full time in 2000.

“It was a bit of a thrill and a shock,” Alderson admitted.

“The transformation over the last five to ten years (for women) has been amazing.

“When I started out there was virtually no lady trainers, no lady jockeys and now I don’t think it will be long until we take it over.

“The thing I love about the racing industry and women is that we can compete on an equal playing field.

“We don’t have to ask for a handicap and I think we our recognised for our skills and talents, as are the boys as well, and I think that’s a fabulous place to be.”

Alderson named the 2009 Australian Hurdle win of stable favourite Hooker Road, who she trained in partnership with her father Colin, as her career highlight.

With the Lady of Racing award first introduced in 1994 recognising Robin Levett, Shelly Hancox, Wendy Kelly, Fran Houlahan, Michelle Payne, Amanda Elliot and Jamie Kah are amongst an illustrious honour roll of great contributors who have won the award in the years that followed.


Click Here to View 28th Lady Of Racing Winner Video

Click Here To View Victorian Wakeful Club Video

Click Here to View Post Award Interview